crowtrobot
Herring
Herring
318 Posts

This game is propaganda

[Post New]by crowtrobot on Jul 20, 11 6:46 AM
I started playing the trial version of this game. It was cute, with graphics and music designed to appeal especially to small children.

Then I reached the point where the little penguin of the storyline goes to school. His teacher is named "Uncle Mao" (complete with Chinese accent). I thought he would turn out to be a villain, but Uncle Mao teachers the little penguin how to "clear his mind," and the penguin is happy after this happens.

Today I ran across a fact I hadn't known before. During the Vietnam War, North Vietnam dictator **** Chi Minh was referred to by VC supporters (such as Jane Fonda) as "Uncle ****."

This is nothing but thinly-veiled propaganda to teach children about communism, when they are too young to understand what communism even is.

DO NOT GET THIS GAME FOR YOUR KIDS!!!

Re:This game is propaganda

[Post New]by dmjones88 on Jul 22, 11 8:25 PM
Not sure I'd go that far but I was not happy with the stereotyped speech pattern of Mr Mao, the teacher, in fact I was offended by it. I had a hard time with the mammary glands on the female penguin as well. My son lost interest in the game after about another hour of play.

MEnr56
Dogfish
Dogfish
1,984 Posts

[Post New]by MEnr56 on Aug 16, 11 12:22 AM

As a USA person who grew up and lived through the Vietnam years with relatives who served over there, I have to say that your information -- though probably fact -- is something that I was NOT aware of and personally, I thought of Mao Tse Tung, the communist Chinese leader of MANY years.