Re:Your Comments and Reviews for Chronicles of Mystery: Tree of Life

[Post New]by gamineannie on Jan 19, 11 12:26 PM
Thanks for all the reviews! Decided to give this a try, though I am brand new to adventure games. Literally, since I bought my first one just yesterday and am currently stuck with it, as I cannot get my character to read a list.
After 19 demo minutes, I have found two items, one of which, naturally, needs a part to work! I have talked to the two other characters a couple of times. Since I was of course stuck for what to do next, I took a quick peek at the walkthrough. Oh, duh! Of course I should go back and talk to one of the others yet again!
Yes, this is apparently a very chatty adventure, and the lead character does walk as if she needed hip surgery really soon, but the graphics are good so far. I may buy this one as I am looking for something a bit challenging, and at the rate I've gone so far, this one will last a good long while!

april445
Guppy
Guppy
140 Posts

[Post New]by april445 on Jan 19, 11 12:32 PM
This seems to be a love it or hate it game. I am on the love it side. It is done by the same people who did the Art of Murder games. The game play is the same, controls etc. all the way down to a woman in tight jeans who can put a lot of stuff in her pockets without any bulges.
You can click the conversations and make them move faster and if you hit the ESC key you can bypass the opening cut scene.
For me I love the challenge of finding items and figuring out how to use them. Most of the time if you ask yourself "What is the common sense thing to do?" you will be able to move ahead. As I said most of the time. but there are times where ya just gotta try everything in you inventory.
Right clicking on inventory items at times will give a hint about what you need to do with the item and sometimes items in inventory need to be combined before they can be used.