cherbtoo
Orca Whale
Orca Whale
22,629 Posts

Re:Reviews for Hidden Expedition: The Uncharted Islands Collector's Edition

[Post New]by cherbtoo on Aug 14, 11 8:14 AM
I started off being very excited when I saw that the next HE was actually here and I bought it sight unseen and it downloaded quite quickly ie 30 minutes as opposed to the trial of Redemption Cemetary which was of a similar Mb length but which took 3 hours.

I then went to being a bit perturbed when I clicked on the settings and it said that my screen resolution (1024 x 768) would not accept the fullscreen setting and yet it fills my monitor so I don't know why it said that . The other thing about the settings that I was a bit unhappy to see was that the Expert Mode setting didn't allow you to turn the sparkles off completely instead you only have 15 seconds before the first glint appears and by 30 seconds you are in full sparkle mode .

Anyway I started playing and came across the first hidden object scene and I must confess that I struggled with this scene as I found it a bit on the dark side and had to use a magnifying glass and lean close to the screen to see some of the objects and even then I had to use a hint. I, personally, found the 'pinging' sound made when you clicked on a correct object irritating and had to turn my sound off completely to get rid of it and by the end of that scene I had muted the music as well.

Well I have to admit that I am now having a ball and I went from being after the end of that first H0 scene to to to to being in with the game and it is all due to the puzzles . They are fantastic and I love the 'layers' in them so that one second you think you have cracked it and then the next part of the puzzle pops up .

I lost myself in the enjoyment of solving these and it made me forget my physical pain temporarily until I tried to move my back and arm so be warned they are definitely addictive and make you eager to see what the next one is going to be .