lordkalvan
Stingray
Stingray
5,577 Posts

Spoiler: tips for final level

[Post New]by lordkalvan on Apr 17, 09 5:57 PM
The final level requires a different type of skill than the rest. I'm not very good at it. However, if the genie escapes, you get another chance, with a different starting position. Take your time, because it is turn based.

Look at the initial board. Is there an area on the edges that is completely free of lamps? You really do NOT want the genie heading in that area! So find the two lamps on the edges that are closest to this lamp-free area. Draw an imaginary line from one lamp in the general direction of the other, and vice versa. Plant your first lamp where these two lines intersect. Hopefully the genie will then start moving toward an area with lots of lamps. Start filling in the edges of the area she is closest to. When she gets close to the large lamp free area, place lamps along your imaginary lines instead of on the edges.

When the genie moves toward a section where the edge tiles are full of lamps, you can get ahead of her. Using this strategy should work on the default difficulty setting, if you have a reasonable starting layout. If you don't, just continue until the genie escapes then try again. Two to four tries should do the trick.

If you have a better strategy please post it!

govegril
Stingray
Stingray
5,727 Posts

Re:Spoiler: tips for final level

[Post New]by govegril on Apr 17, 09 6:24 PM
I don't have a better strategy so thanks for posting this. I found that a lot of it was luck with the layout you got. Some layouts were impossible, especially when you got the genie appear close to the outer edge.
For me it was a matter of restarting until the layout was in my favour.

ecblisa
Stingray
Stingray
5,078 Posts

[Post New]by ecblisa on Apr 17, 09 8:52 PM