Game will not play after downloading

[Post New]by FayeLady on Aug 13, 09 6:51 PM
After I have paid and downloaded games Blackwell Convergence will not load to play - please help - Novice here.

Thanks, Faye

naomi4195
Seahorse
Seahorse
35 Posts

Re:Game will not play after downloading

[Post New]by naomi4195 on Aug 13, 09 8:12 PM
I am having the same problem, did you find a solution?

goldens
Guppy
Guppy
100 Posts

[Post New]by goldens on Aug 13, 09 8:16 PM
I have just sent a message to technical suppport. Do you get an error response that the graphics mode failedf to create Direct 3D Device? I have a fairly new PC and am on Vista. I have never had this response before with any other game I've downloaded.

[Post New]by bananaannabeth on Aug 13, 09 10:21 PM
I get a message about an AGS Editor. Anyone know what this is?

[Post New]by FayeLady on Aug 13, 09 10:34 PM
I did get that message as posted - hope techs can help. Thanks for response - Faye

[Post New]by FayeLady on Aug 13, 09 10:36 PM
my last response was about the graphics failure or something like you said

goldens
Guppy
Guppy
100 Posts

[Post New]by goldens on Aug 14, 09 8:09 AM
I just heard back from tech support & they said this is an easy fix. Their instructions were the following:
go to C:\Program Files\The Blackwell Convergence
Double click on winsetup.exe file
You will see a driver box with Direct 3D9 highlighted. This needs to be changed to Direct Draw 5
Save and Play.

Hope this works for you.

Word_Dudely
Guppy
Guppy
131 Posts

[Post New]by Word_Dudely on Aug 14, 09 8:52 AM
Another thing to try is updating directx to the most recent version. The microsoft result from a google search for "directx web installer" (should be the first) might be the trick you need.

Word_Dudely
Guppy
Guppy
131 Posts

[Post New]by Word_Dudely on Aug 14, 09 12:39 PM
And there is now an installer on the game too, so try downloading and installing it again if the above tricks didn't work.

Gill_Dudley
Minnow
Minnow