tramserran
Guppy
Guppy
181 Posts

QotW 9/21 - Careers

[Post New]by tramserran on Sep 21, 15 3:17 PM
Question of the Week - 9/21/15:
What Careers and/or Jobs have you had?

Experts say that we reinvent ourselves every 5 years and expect the new generation (referred to as the Millenia's) to have an average of 5 careers (not jobs but careers!) by the time they retire.

If you would like to submit a question to be posted on a future week, please PM me with your discussion topic.

tramserran
Guppy
Guppy
181 Posts

Re:QotW 9/21 - Careers

[Post New]by tramserran on Sep 21, 15 3:34 PM
I have had many jobs (most fell in my lap through volunteer work) but have only had 2 careers.

My first career was in Engineering and I worked in the Aerospace industry. My second career was in Higher Education - teaching mathematics and science courses in high schools and the state college.

Other jobs I have had include:
1) working in the engine room of ships transporting goods between North America and the Far East.
2) working in the mental health field helping families who have a member with alcohol/addiction issues.
3) Manager for a large electronic distributor
4) Housemother - I raised 4 beautiful children!
5) Caregiver for people with dementia

Currently, I am at home taking care of my 95 year old father-in-law. I am not sure if I will go back to my second career (teaching) when he passes away or if I will start a 3rd career as a business owner.

fushiaquilt
Lobster
Lobster
92 Posts

[Post New]by fushiaquilt on Sep 21, 15 3:36 PM
I currently teach art in my home to children 6-11. I have a college degree in Elementary Education and substituted then taught art, science and Colorado history for a home school enrichment program via the public school system.
I stayed home with my children for 15 years before going back to work.
Before receiving my degree I was a ward clerk in a hospital and worked in the snack bar at Albertsons grocery store.

mommerj
Clownfish
Clownfish
520 Posts