puzzledone
Dolphin
Dolphin
7,182 Posts

Re:Your Comments and Reviews for Journey of Hope

[Post New]by puzzledone on Jun 28, 10 2:58 PM
As pointed out above, this game needs no tutorial, it IS a tutorial, and may be worthwhile if titled How To Play A HIdden Object Game. A good starter for the total novice in casual games but probably too dull for kids.

I got the impression that the developer needed a tutorial too to make one, so they bought up all the old DDs for study. Once they got all the clear, colorful crisp graphics done, then what to do with them? If they weren't over budget by then they may have hired a writer, or maybe they did the text to string all their pretty pictures together. If they had a storyboard they didn't follow it because nothing was in continuity and at times the flow went backwards.

"We need to discover the Cortez armor"?? We just left the Cortez exhibit and it was in your face, you didn't see it in that glass case? Even when you reached through the glass for the piggy bank and other junk displayed with it?? Check your inventory lady. So, back to that room and mysteriously our items are gone but we need a glass cutter and suction cups to cut the glass we didn't need before.
That was just for openers.

We get to show her how to put a map together with outlines of the jigsaw already drawn in place (did the tech forget to remove those clues?) Lesson 2, how to do a Jigsaw.

Oh oh, we forgot a theme or concept to tie the dialogue together into a story. No problem, study 6 or 7 DDs to see what's popular. Oh, a young female lead character with a missing father, grandfather gets old (pun) and dominant genes are a love for archaeology and a touch of dementia forgetting where he left a valuable idol, and total loss of directional instinct, obviously inherited by the daughter. Gramma and Mama are never in the picture to help, they divorced him long ago for abandonment. Our hero role model, the loyal daughter.