lordkalvan
Stingray
Stingray
5,577 Posts

Top that Drop?

[Post New]by lordkalvan on Mar 1, 17 5:06 PM
I updated GD on iOS. This is the update that includes Dublin. I've played five or six levels and so far every blessed time I win there's a banner in my face saying Top that Drop! Also get a thumbs up icon in the corner, which is rather cool.

Does that "you won" banner ever say anything else? Hopefully after a couple of days I'll stop flinching when it rushes at me. I'm a developer myself, and it should be simple to have the words change randomly when it's just text. Voice is more complicated and increases download size, and they already have that at the end when you win.

keitht53
Parrotfish
Parrotfish
461 Posts

Re:Top that Drop?

[Post New]by keitht53 on Mar 2, 17 5:22 AM
On a positive note, the changed display does show clearly that there has been an update. All we need now is confirmation that the server sync problem has been fixed and we'll be a lot happier.
I do agree about the banner, although I'm sure I had one level where a different message appeared.

lordkalvan
Stingray
Stingray
5,577 Posts

[Post New]by lordkalvan on Mar 2, 17 6:06 AM
Just now I got "Fantastic" right above Top that Drop.

Edit: it seems strange when my last move is a wimpy 3 in a row with no cascade. Yes I won the level, but Top that Drop doesn't feel appropriate.

Edited on 03/02/2017 at 6:11:39 AM PST

lordkalvan
Stingray
Stingray
5,577 Posts

[Post New]by lordkalvan on Mar 2, 17 8:32 AM
Finally got one without Top that Drop. I did get a banner in the same position but it said Perfect Drop.

keitht53
Parrotfish
Parrotfish
461 Posts

[Post New]by keitht53 on Mar 2, 17 12:03 PM
I said I thought I'd seen a different message, it must have been that one.

snowmanvt
Clownfish
Clownfish
566 Posts

[Post New]by snowmanvt on Mar 2, 17 3:52 PM